Rob Newman: A History of Western Philosophy - Preview

September 12, 2017 - December 09, 2017 | UK Tour

Photo: Tristram Kenton

Join Rob Newman as he premiers A History of Western Philosophy, his brand new – and likely controversial – work-in-progress show inspired by his recent award-winning Radio 4 series ‘Neuropolis’.

Says Rob: “The Undertones once did an album called ‘Here’s More Songs About Chocolate And Girls’. I was tempted to call these shows: ‘Here’s More Gags About About Philosophy of Science’ (It’s the next big wave, I tell ya!) I hope the subject matter doesn’t put you off. I have pages and pages of notes scrawled in felt-tip pen, and I have got three new characters I am working on, of which I can imagine two being actually funny.”

Over the last twenty-five years Rob has continually surprised audiences with innovations, surprise changes of direction and inspired thinking. This show will be no exception to that tradition.

“He is the funniest comedian I have ever seen…a passionate, chaotically brilliant comedian.”
The Sunday Times

“Newman combines proper scientific argument with dazzling shafts of wit.”
The Times

“He is one amazing comedian”
Time Out

“Newman’s comedy probably has more constituent parts than any other comic’s and yet the whole is still greater than the sum of those parts…. Very, very funny.”
The Scotsman

“A performance that mixes hard fact with dizzying flights of comedic fantasy.’
The Guardian

 

TOUR DATES: 

SEPTEMBER
Tuesday 12 September – Norwich Arts Centre
Friday 22 September – Birmingham MAC
Friday 29 September – Old Town Hall, Hemel Hempstead

OCTOBER
Friday 6 October – South Street, Reading
Wednesday 11 October – Rondo Theatre, Bath
Friday 20 October – Mill Arts Centre, Banbury
Thursday 26 October – Swindon Arts Centre

NOVEMBER
Monday 6 November – Komedia, Brighton
Sunday 19 November – Tabard Theatre, London
Monday 20 November – Tabard Theatre, London
Tuesday 21 November – Tabard Theatre, London
Sunday 26 November – Cube, Bristol

DECEMBER
Wednesday 6 December – The Pleasance, London
Thursday 7 December – The Pleasance, London
Friday 8 December – The Pleasance, London
Saturday 9 December – The Pleasance, London

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply