Mark Thomas – Check Up: Our NHS at 70 - Preview

February 06, 2019 - May 04, 2019 | Various venues across UK

Pic: Steve Ullathorn

Following a ground-breaking tour of his last show Showtime From the Frontline in which he, alongside two Palestinian comics, re-enacted their time setting up a comedy club in Jenin, Mark Thomas turns his attention back to the UK and to our very own National Health Service for Check Up: Our NHS at 70.

Mark is 54, the NHS is 70, and the UK national average life expectancy is 84. If Mark makes it to 84, the NHS will be 100. What will they both look like? Based on a series of interviews with leading experts in and on the NHS, residencies in hospitals and surgeries, and with theatre director Nicolas Kent, Mark uses his own demise to explore the state we’re in; what’s going wrong in our NHS, how it can go right, and what the future might hold for us all.

Selling out his Fringe run once again this year to absolute critical acclaim, Mark’s now famous, unique style of theatre, comedy, investigative journalism and reportage won him yet another prestigious Scotsman Fringe First Award this August and he went on to perform the show for a two week sell-out run at London’s Arcola Theatre.

TOUR DATES

Weds 6th-Fri 8th February         BRISTOL, Tobacco Factory
Sat 9th February                          LONDON, North Finchley Arts Depot
Tues 12th February                      CAMBRIDGE, Junction
Weds 13th February                    COVENTRY, Warwick Arts Centre
Thurs 14th February                    HALIFAX, Square Chapel
Fri 15th February                          DARWEN, Library Theatre
Tue 19th February                       IPSWICH, Wolsey Theatre
Weds 20th February                    BURY ST EDMUNDS, Theatre Royal
Thurs 21st February                    DIDCOT, Cornerstone
Fri 22nd February                        CANTERBURY, Gulbenkian
Weds 27th February                   EXETER, Corn Exchange
Thurs 28th February                   CARDIFF, Sherman

Fri 1st-Sat 2nd March                  HOVE, Old Market
Tues 5th-Thurs 7th March           NEWCASTLE, Live Theatre
Fri 8th-Sat 9th  March                 MANCHESTER, Home
Tues 12th March                          STOCKTON, Arc
Weds 13th March                        KENDAL, Brewery Arts Centre
Thurs 14th-Fri 15th March         NOTTINGHAM, Lakeside
Tues 19th-Weds 20th March     BIRMINGHAM, MAC
Thurs 21st March                        MILTON KEYNES, The Stables
Fri 22nd March                            OXFORD, North Wall
Tues 26th March                        LETCHWORTH, Broadway Theatre
Weds 27th March                       HERTFORD, Hertford Theatre
Thurs 28th March                      NORWICH, Playhouse
Fri 29th March                            TUNBRIDGE WELLS, Trinity Theatre

Tues 2nd April                             SALE, Waterside
Weds 3rd April                           LINCOLN, Drill Hall
Thurs 4th April                          COLCHESTER, Arts Centre
Fri 5th April                                 EASTLEIGH, The Point
Tues 9th – Thurs 11th April        GLASGOW, Tron
Fri 12th – Sat 13th April                  LIVERPOOL, Playhouse
Tues 16th – Weds 17th April         SHEFFIELD, University Drama Studio
Thurs 18th April                           WAKEFIELD, Theatre Royal
Tues 23rd April – Sat 4th May      LONDON, Battersea Arts Centre

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.